Facebook Twitter

Jim Roebuck award recipients announced

The awards honor students who have outstanding leadership skills.

This article was originally published in The Notebook. In August 2020, The Notebook became Chalkbeat Philadelphia.

State Rep. James Roebuck (D-Phila.) announced the nine recipients of the 2018 Jim Roebuck award, which aims to honor students in public, charter, and parochial schools in the 188th District who show outstanding leadership skills.

This year’s recipients are Alyxandra Jackson-Hall from Avery D. Harrington Elementary School, Stephen Walicki from Penn Alexander School, Alexander Morrow from the Workshop School, Tahir Naseem Hennie from St. Francis de Sales Catholic School, Tiguida Kaba from Henry C. Lea Elementary School, Dahmere Town from Paul Robeson High School, Zoie Jackson-Lawrence from Jubilee School, Gregory James Viola from Home of the Merciful Savior for Children with Cerebral Palsy, and Rebecca Brima from Mastery Charter at Harrity Elementary.

Students were nominated by faculty at their schools.

The students received the honors, including cash awards from Roebuck’s personal funds, at their respective graduations.

Roebuck has presented this award to students in his constituency for nearly 20 years.