clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

58 teachers receive Lindback award

This article was originally published in The Notebook. In August 2020, The Notebook became Chalkbeat Philadelphia.

This year, 58 teachers will be named recipients of the annual Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award, which honors one distinguished teacher from every Philadelphia public high school with recognition and a stipend of $3,500. Award winners are selected based on their work in bettering the character and intellectual development of their students.

A ceremony will be held Tuesday afternoon at the Prince Music Theater to celebrate the honorees.

School Recipient
A. Philip Randolph Technical High School Joe Williams
Abraham Lincoln High School Louise Jordan
Academy at Palumbo Colleen Lawson-Thornton
Arts Academy at Benjamin Rush Max Feldman
Benjamin Franklin High School Lawrence Conlan
Building 21 Ayris Colvin
Central High School Florica Dragomir
Constitution High School Jesse Todd
Frankford High School Lena Namnun
Franklin Learning Center Colleen Krakauskas
George Washington Carver High School of Engineering & Science Douglas Rowland
George Washington High School Karen James
Girard Academic Music Program Vincent Rutland
High School for Creative & Performing Arts Marlene Goebig
High School of the Future Charlena Martin
Hill-Freedman High School Corey Ilgenfritz
Horace H. Furness High School Kathleen Thomas
John Bartram High School Amy Georgia Foster
Jules Mastbaum Technical High School Dr. Wilbert Michael Riley
Julia R. Masterman High School Kim Kelter Neu
Kensington Creative & Performing Arts Martin Moyers
Kensington Health Sciences Academy Angela Iovine
Kensington International Business, Finance & Entrepreneurship Denise Magasich
Kensington Urban Education Academy Entela Ndrecka
Lankenau High School Neil Shander
Martin Luther King High School Stacie Johnson
Motivation High School Miles Mayers
Murrell Dobbins Technical High School Desmond Kirton
Northeast High School Christy Kenney-Quinn
Overbrook High School Nija Birchett
Parkway Center City High School Alexander Buxbaum
Parkway Northwest High School Kathryn May
Parkway West High School James Santore
Paul Robeson High School Karla Johnson
Penn Treaty High School Kevin Hamilton
Pennypack House School Nadine Williamson
Philadelphia High School for Girls Kathleen DiTanna
Philadelphia Juvenile Justice Services Center Darlena Ward
Philadelphia Learning Academy North Nicole M. McGowan
Philadelphia Learning Academy South Patricia Hendrick-Emore
Philadelphia Military Academy Russell Benditt
Philadelphia Virtual Academy Jennifer Lydon
Roxborough High School Derek Stevenson
Samuel S. Fels High School Anna Johnson
Science Leadership Academy Michael Ames
Science Leadership Academy @ Beeber Christopher Pilla
South Philadelphia High School Christina DeAngelo
Strawberry Mansion High School Jameka McGraw-Byrd
Swenson Arts & Technology High School Abram Cushner
The LINC Breanne Lucy
The “U” School Margaret Stephan
The Workshop School Helen Rowe
Thomas Edison High School Stephen Chicano
W. B. Saul High School of Agricultural Science Lisa Blum
West Philadelphia High School Ronald Wood
Widener Memorial High School Dorianne Malone
William L. Sayre High School Keyonna Minor
William W. Bodine High School for International Affairs Bartholomew Poindexter

The COVID-19 outbreak is changing our daily reality

Chalkbeat is a nonprofit newsroom dedicated to providing the information families and educators need, but this kind of work isn't possible without your help.

Sign up for the newsletter Chalkbeat Philadelphia

Sign up for our newsletter.